Knockrabo - Mount Anville Road

About Knockrabo

An Unparalleled Lifestyle

Knockrabo is an exceptional new development of 3, 4 & 5 bedroom houses and 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments and penthouses positioned on a stunning elevated site with views of the sea and the city.

Knockrabo has a rich heritage. It is built on the site of Mountanville House, a demesne that was the home of Henry Roe who is famous for having paid for the restoration of Christchurch Cathedral.

The name Mountanville House was later changed to Knockrabo.

The attractive house of Knockrabo, which stood opposite Mount Anville Convent, was a Victorian house of exceptional quality being located on high ground overlooking much of South County Dublin and a rooftop belvedere was added in the 19th Century to take advantage of these views.

The house became the home of Chief Baron Christopher Palles in 1885 until his death in 1920. Later it became a boarding school for girls that practiced the progressive methods of English educator, Charlotte Mason (1842-1923).

The school closed in 1960 and the Ski Club of Ireland built their first ski slope there c.1966 until the mid ‘70’s when it moved to Kilternan.

In the early 80’s Knockrabo was owned by Dublin Gas employees, it was subsequently sold to Bank of Ireland who used it as their sports club. The BOI sports club included a bowling lawn, grass tennis courts and Knockrabo itself was demolished in 1984 to make way for a new sports facility.


Preserving the heritage

With such a rich history it was important for the development to preserve the heritage of the site.

One of the first people to see the site was Felim Sheridan an Arborist. His job was to assess what trees were of value and could be preserved. The site has some "champion trees", classic wellingtonias, a rare Monterey Cypress and it was wonderful news that these could be conserved.

Another part of the site that they were able to maintain was to restore the original front entrance gates to their original beauty. Bushy Park Ironworks is one of the leading specialists in ironwork in Ireland and using techniques used by blacksmiths 150 years ago they were able to repair the gates.